Season of Love: The shorties…

I know Valentines Day and the month of love always gets a bit of a bad rap for being a commercial marketing day to get couples to spend money, but that angle of it aside, I thought it was important to tackle the honesty of romance.

I put up a post asking for people to share their stories of how they met their partner, and this is what they had to say.

Yasmine and Dylan:

screenshot_2016-10-31-18-50-09

So it all started at an anime convention… We met in person for the first time at the convention but we kind of knew about each other because of an anime group chat.

Things didn’t kick off immediately though…

He always teased me in the group about a few things, but when it was just us, he was kind of sweet.

He still annoyed me though.

*Fast forward a few months*

One day, we were watching – you guessed right – anime at his house.

By then, we both liked each other but neither was sure so we didn’t say anything.

At the end of the night, we hugged each other and then had this agreement that we are going to start dating. 😂😂

I did say we met through anime and that is how they do it…kind of 😂😂

So basically, I thank anime for meeting him 😊😊

 

Ashleigh and Johan:

img_20170206_085323_349

We met on tinder in August 2015.

His first question to me was are you related to Jacques Kallis? After that we just clicked and started chatting…

After a month he invited me for coffee one Saturday morning and we met for the first time at Canal Walk roof entrance – not the most romantic but it’s a spot we will never forget.

Every time we go to Canal Walk and walk in by the roof entrance, we always smile knowing that’s where we met!

Look at us now 1 year 5 months together!

img_20170209_122857_530

M and S:

a7efb2c28ad1cfbf39cde4782b9ddf11

Anyway, we met at UCT, I was second year and he was third, and was tutoring a second year course.

We didn’t talk to each other for 90% of the course, during the last 10% he asked me if I would be around during the holidays and I was pretty snappy with him, stressed and all, and then he added me on Facebook (he still had it back then) about a week into the holidays and we grabbed a cuppa tea.

Leave a Reply

