Season of Love: Jamie-Leigh and Noel

I know Valentines Day and the month of love always gets a bit of a bad rap for being a commercial marketing day to get couples to spend money, but that angle of it aside, I thought it was important to tackle the honesty of romance.

I put up a post asking for people to share their stories of how they met their partner, and this is what they had to say.

Jamie-Leigh and Noel:

image1

Noel and I went to the same primary school, but never really knew each other until high school.

In grade 8 we went to a house party, and met officially. I was wearing a Batman tshirt with jeans (Lord only knows why, considering I was a grade 8 girl in the noughties). I walked in and gave a smile, and began greeting people.

Noel says from then on he always knew that he wanted to date me.

A few years later, our girl group matched up with his guy group, and we all became quite close.

In grade ten, Noel and I went to a very non-supervised house party, and he gave me a kiss in front of the whole clan out of nowhere! From then on, we were inseparable at social gatherings; but nothing ever came of our little smooch. We just always found our way to each other whenever we were in a crowd. We became really good friends, and would talk about everything and anything.

We ended up both interested in, and dating, other people by grade 11 (then, 2008).

By mid-2008, both of us had found ourselves single.

We spoke every single night and spent weekends together sneakily, without our friends really knowing it.

One evening, he asked me if I would be his girlfriend.

This took me completely by surprise, because I wasn’t really the kind of girl that boys liked. Naturally, as a 17 year old girl, I ran to my best friend for advice. She told me that we wouldn’t suit each other and that I would be silly to say yes, because “it was NOEL”; our friend. How weird.13700109_10153573277171949_7532868690005151611_n

I agreed with her and rejected him – saying that I only saw us as friends etc.

A day or so later I came to my senses and begged him to reconsider.

He told me to remember the date, 26 November 2008.

We’ve been together for 8 years now and we’re moving in together in April.

He’s my best friend and we grew up together. As long, lame and non-romantic as this story is, we have a solid foundation that no one could break apart. We are two independent and strong personalities, but we go together like braai & wine.

I find that more romantic than any movie-like, chance, ‘meet cute’.

Well, it’s something.

xxx

Leave a Reply

